HallMark Holiday, my shiny white butt

It’s Valentine’s Day. Break out your cynicism and pessimism and all your other isms.   Just keep them to yourselves.

See, it’s not just Valentine’s Day over here at Casa Contrary, it’s Pookie’s and my anniversary as well.

Before we were married, Valentine’s Day was primarily the day I found myself helping to write out classroom valentines at 6 in the morning and saying really bad words to myself (or out loud. Whatever)

Pookie brings the romance, let me tell you.   I remember the first time he charmed (and therefore romanced) me. He brought me a copy of National Geographic because it had a huge article  about the evolution of the dog.    Now, this might not seem so romantic to you, but it was to me.  It was the perfect little courting gift.  He contines to do this kind of thing to this day.   He’s not much for sending flowers (but he does), but he’s awesome at finding the perfect little gift and often does for no reason other than that he knew I’d like it.

One time, when we were dating, he decided that my door locks sucked  (they did) and that they needed changing (they did).  He drove 80 miles, replaced my locks, took a nap in a chair and then drove home (80 miles) to go to work.    Yeah, it was a practical thing to do and it certainly needed doing, but it was the most romantic thing anyone has ever done for me.

We were actually going to be married in June and realized there was no way we wanted to live apart that much longer and made the decision to move things up in about 5 minutes during an IM conversation.  It went like this:

One or the other of us: Dude. Seriously. I cannot wait till June to jump your bones on a daily basis.  What do you say we move up the wedding, say, 4 months? To Valentine’s Day?

The other one or the other of us:  Dude. That’s an awesome idea.  You’re smart AND good lookin’.   I sure am glad I’m marrying you!

That was pretty much verbatim, except that Pookie wouldn’t say ‘dude’ if he was getting paid to do so.

Happy Anniversay/Valentine’s Day, Honey.   I love you.   You light up my life, is what I’m saying here.

And now, for the audience participation part of our program, what is the most romantic thing you’ve ever done or someone has done for you?

Overheard in Texas

Me, last night, while watching the Westminster Kennel Club Dog Show:  Oh my God. Look at that dog’s butthole! It’s huge.  A dog with a butthole that big has no business being on national television!

I’m both deeper and shallower that anyone could have imagined.