Also, I forgot to say it, but my little brother was such a little badass

I wanted to expound a bit on my ‘Worst Day post, as there were some interesting comments.

Mrs. Chili was surprised that I made dogs my life’s work after that.  Well, the fact is, I was completely infatuated with dogs. Hell, any animal really, but mostly dogs. I still feel that way today.  I will say though, that I am no fan of most arctic breeds (as Pookie said in the comments).  In my not so limited experience, you’re MUCH more likely to get chewed on by a Chow, Husky, Malamute, or even American Eskimo Dog than you are a Pit Bull or Rottweiler.  I will and have worked with these breeds countless times, though.  I just don’t necessarily enjoy the experience or find it relaxing.
Dan said that he doesn’t trust dogs and as much as he loves them, he’ll never have one as a pet.   I absolutely agree that if someone feels this way, they should not get a dog and just try to get over it.  If you don’t trust your dog, your dog can’t trust you and that makes for a bad situation.

Obviously the dog that attacked us was not to be trusted.   I didn’t have the skills to deal with a dog in that mindset.  I’ve aquired those skills in the years since then and my response to such an attack now would not be to stand there and do my best imitation of a Milkbone.   I wish I’d known better how to handle a situation like this so that I could have stopped the attack before he moved on to my little brother.  That was a lesson learned for me and my kids have been brought up handling dogs and would at the same age (I was 12) have handled the same circumstance much better than I did.   Pooter can drag the 120 lb Great Dane around and never suffer anything more tragic than a stomped on toe.   Because I raised both the dog and the kid to act right.

Kizz wanted to know whether it was worse being attacked or watching my little brother be attacked.   Well, I was actually surprised to find out that I had wounds because getting chewed up is pretty painless when it’s happening.  Between the sharpness of the dog’s teeth and the adrenaline, I didn’t really feel it.   Watching the dog attack Andy was much more horrifying because I could actually see the damage being done.

To be truthful though, the absolute worst part of the whole thing was sitting in the ER with Andy, waiting for an OR and trying to pretend like he didn’t look all that bad.  It was my first experience with not looking absolutely fucking terrified so I wouldn’t scare someone else.   It was more difficult than you might imagine.

All in all, I’m over it.   My little brother is over it; in fact, he lives with two big dumb dogs himself.   It was a really bad day, but we’re both still here and he’s not blind.   We’re good.  It’s all good.

He’s still a badass though.

7 Responses to “Also, I forgot to say it, but my little brother was such a little badass”

  1. mrschili Says:

    So what DOES one do in a situation like that?

    Several years ago, my young daughters and I were out for a walk. A neighbor’s dog was so excited about the girls (“GIRLS!” she said to herself, “LET’S PLAY!!”) that she actually broke out of her electric fence and came bounding across the street to us. My instinct (and I don’t know if it was right, but I’m glad it wasn’t completely wrong) was to put both girls on the ground and try to form as much of a ball over them as I could.

    It turned out that the dog didn’t want to do us any harm, but if she had, it could have been tragic.

    I don’t have dogs – not because I’m afraid of them, but because I’m too damned lazy. I see people dressed like Nanook of the Frickin’ North walking their dogs in negative 20 degree wind chills and I think that it’s great to have cats. If I DID have a dog, though, it’d be a Dobie or a Rotty. I think they’re beautiful animals…

  2. lloyd Says:

    We had a brown Cocker Spaniel, Jasimine, when we were kids who never bit anyone. Our friend Buzzy had Krinkle, a black Cocker Spaniel. One day when they were towing an old car out of Buzzy’s yard Krinkle got excited and bit my sister, Ruth.

    Don’t trust black Cocker Spaniels!

  3. Kizz Says:

    I was taught at a very early age that all-important, “Nah, you look fine, the doctor just wants to check it out as a precaution” look. You’re right, often it’s way harder than you’d think but man I so appreciate that ability in others. I’m easily ramped up if someone else is highly emotional so when I have something going on (like a big old hole in my head) I find it super helpful to have someone who can keep their pants on, so to speak.

    Thanks for expounding. I never think of the Arctic breeds as a biting problem (well, the chows I do) but more as an escaping problem. Here in the city the best way to give our dogs exercise is in the parks during legalized off leash hours but most of the arctic types I know can’t take advantage because they run off like assholes and don’t come back.

  4. The Andy Says:

    feeling a little awed yet embarrassed being the subject of a blog. it took me along time to accept a kiss from any dog but have learned to trust(warily) any dog that is willing to stand still and look me in the eye. any dog growling and baring teeth is not trustworthy. as for the two dumb dogs residing with me. one of the SOBs bit me the other day. i hit our bro as a joke and then he hit me back. then the dog bit me. rcovered for the most part. To this day anyone who is any danger from a dog is going to be helped regardless of size of dog. just askour bro chuck in kansas. broke a dog fight that a bunch of kids were watching.

  5. Mandy Lou Says:

    Wow – the whole thing is amazing. I’m not sure I could trust any dog after something like that and love dogs! Glad you’re both ok and over it.

  6. magneto bold too Says:

    Just recently here in OZ a dog mauled his owners sister. The neighbour ran over and pulled the dog off her and was getting attacked and a builder ran over and killed the dog with a nail gun.

    Apparently the RSPCA (animal rights dept thingy) said that was the only way to stop the dog and no charges are going to be sought.

    The owner was pissed that the dog was killed. Didn’t really care about the sister, nor the neighbour.

    I am horrified at this story. The dog, the nail gun, the owner…… and happy I have a bunny. With Tourettes.

  7. Organic Mama Says:

    Helluva learning experience, eh? I can only imagine that watching little bro being chewed on was horrifying. I am glad you posted that story.

    Whenever I read about people being mauled I think about how little too many people know about living with and around dogs;things like how not to appear threatening, WHY not to touch a strange dog on his or her head, why not to grab a strange dog around the face or even to look them in the eye. Hell, I think that should be part of school curriculum!

    I have two very intelligent, very protective desert dogs that I have learned a great deal from. Basically I was a naive idiot before my male dogs taught me to either be opposable thumbs for his whims or to be the boss; being the boss is work because they never get the chance to creep up the ladder.

    I used to have an Eskimo – she was a nipper, sure enough. However, the dogs I now have – Israel Canaans – are just about the most amazing animals I have ever met.


Leave a Reply

