I think I’ll be sticking with hot cocoa on New Year’s Eve.

We had a lovely, lovely Christmas.

Except I totally woke up with a hangover.

Here’s a tip: If you’re not much of a drinker avoid the doctored eggnog on Christmas Eve.   I had one teeny tiny drink, didn’t even get minorly stupid and woke up tasting eggnog flavored pre-vomit and feeling like my head was going to fall off.

Thankfully, Pooter is not an early riser and I had time to self medicate with coffee, Pepcid and ibuprofen and I was back in top form before he ever woke up.

Pookie got me a shirt that has a triple word score box from Scrabble on it that says Triple Nerd Score.     There has never been a more accurate piece of clothing, ever.   I do loves me some Scrabble.

Pooter got a RoboRaptor (which he named Satellite), which is only the coolest thing ever.

Pookie got a St. Louis Cardinals tie from Baby Girl which looks devastatingly handsome on him.

And Baby girl got a holiday pack of Jones Sodas with flavors like Cherry Pie and Lemon Meringue.

Of course, we all got other things (especially Pooter. That little shit cleaned up), but those were some of the faves.

So what was your favorite gift this year?

*****

Bing Crosby singing Silent Night

5 Responses to “I think I’ll be sticking with hot cocoa on New Year’s Eve.”

  1. Pookie Says:

    Contrary fails to mention that the “devastatingly handsome” tie looks best with the beautiful dress shirt she gave me. Gunmetal gray, and French cuffs to boot! We might have to go out on a date that calls for dressing up.

    Our living room floor currently looks like a dinosaur graveyard. Even Satellite the Roboraptor is on his side. If we were suddenly buried by a massive geological upheaval, future geologists a few æons from now would do well to aim their oil drills in this direction.

  2. mrschili Says:

    Oh, I CANNOT WAIT for you to move up here – I LURVE me some Scrabble!!

    My favorite gift is a tie between the iPhone gifted to me by my Mac-geeky husband and the scanner/printer/copier gifted to me by my sister. Neither is hooked up yet, but the anticipation of them is sufficient to thrill me…

  3. Pat K Says:

    Man I gotta get me one of them
    Robo Raptors.

    I don’t go out on New Years.
    Us professional drinkers, don’t
    like to deal with the amateur .

  4. Pookie Says:

    Mrs.Chili got an iPhone?

    I used to like her.

  5. Organic Mama Says:

    Yeah, I’m gonna pretend Chili still has her old gizzie, or I might have to throw down for the blasted new thing.

    Happy everything, Contrary! Thanks for cracking me up on a pretty much regular basis.

    Great shirt, by the way! (I second the scrabble invitation – anytime!) I got a shirt that says, “English Major: YOU do the Math!” from two separate people. Maybe they think I’m a math moron? Although not far from the truth, I can still add up Scrabble pointage.


Leave a Reply

