Lowry the Preacher Guy

Today’s guest blogger is Pookie.

We’ve been wrapping presents until the wee hours of Christmas Eve. We started on Sunday the 23rd, so is that Christmas Eve Eve? Eve squared? CE^2? Anyhoo…

My beloved Contrary is way beyond tired, so I offered to be her guest blogger for the day. I hope y’all don’t mind that I’m not nearly as funny, but I think you’ll chuckle at the videos.

Serious stuff out of the way first: despite the occasional salty language (okay, downright filthy at times), we are Christians who regularly offer thanks that God (not to mention whichever angel is in charge of the occasional “random” bolt of lighting), is not a regular reader of this particular corner of the Blogosphere. If God’s a regular reader, He must be even more forgiving than we thought.

On the other hand (are You listening?), it would be nice to get a couple of carefully targeted bolts from the blue, so that State Farm buys us a new roof. Wink-wink, nudge-nudge, Big Guy!

Anyhoo (again)… Contrary already posted Larry the Cable Guy’s Christmas carols. Just as funny (but a bit less risque) is Mark Lowry, shown here as part of the Gaither Vocal Band.

Here’s the set-up: what must it have been like to be Mary, entrusted with raising God embodied on Earth? If you think it’s hard to refrain from beating a 5 year old who just thinks he’s omniscient and omnipotent, what do you do with one who really is?

Lowry the Preacher Guy, in three takes:

Part 2:

Like Ron White says, “I told you all of that, just to tell you this.”

You’ve heard this song, I’m sure. Everyone who’s released a Christmas album in the last decade has done their own version. The difference is, Mark Lowry wrote it, and those first two videos just explain why he started wondering.

But you have to wonder, on Christmas Eve: Mary, did you know? Really know what you were in for?

8 Responses to “Lowry the Preacher Guy”

  1. Homeward Bound : Guest blogging for Christmas Says:

    […] for the holiday, I sat in for my beloved at her blog:https://verycontrary.wordpress.com/2007/12/24/lowry-the-preacher-guy/Merry Christmas, everyone!  Published Monday, December 24, 2007 4:59 AM by KBCraig Filed […]

  2. bkclubcare Says:

    Wow – very talented. and FUNNY! It’s good to be reminded of the importantce of a sense of humor. (Found this from Holidailies!) Merry Christmas, -Care

  3. mrschili Says:

    I have, in general, no use for organized religion. I’m not an athiest, but neither do I fit into any of the pre-arranged categories of faith, either.

    This guy is pretty funny, though – charismatic and good natured. I’m not sure I’d want to be locked in his HOUSE, though – the proselytizing doesn’t work for me, but he sure is funny.

  4. Contrary Says:

    I have to admit that when Pookie sent me the link and told me this guy was hilarious, I had my doubts.

    There’s been about 3 preachers who have ever made me laugh, and only one of them was he trying to be funny.

    But, yeah, I laughed my ass off watching, which would be awesome if that were a literal statement.

    And of course, the song is beautiful and so thought provoking.

  5. Pat K Says:

    Not bad for a pinch hitter.

    Merry Christmas ya’ll.

  6. AndyThePug Says:

    I’ve heard both the song and the routine before, but I had no idea he wrote the lyrics. Cool little bit of Christmas trivia.

    And, for the record, I find it perfectly plausible that Bill Gaither is Lazarus.

  7. buffi Says:

    Mark Lowry is one of my very favorite people ever! he’s the one who said that he named his bed “The Word” so that when he decided to sleep in on Sunday morning he could honestly tell people that he was “Spending time in The Word this morning.”

    Also….you’ve got it all wrong. December 23 is NOT Christmas Eve Eve. It is Christmas Adam. Because Adam came before Eve. 🙂

  8. Pookie Says:

    buffi sez:
    December 23 is NOT Christmas Eve Eve. It is Christmas Adam. Because Adam came before Eve.

    And we’ve been hearing complaints about that ever since! *rimshot*


Leave a Reply

