As God as my witness, I’ll never go without high speed internet again (but I’m still not eating any fucking turnips)

I’m not sure if this post will make it as I have had to borrow a cup of internet from one of my neighbors.   It’s all very slow, and it’s not very pretty, but it’s here, by God.

Keep your fingers crossed for me, y’all.

Anyway, Baby Girl and I watched Ghost Rider this evening.  I would normally link to the IMDB page for this movie, but honestly, I’m afraid to get fancy.

The movie wasn’t bad, despite the presence of Nicholas Cage. Don’t get me wrong, I’m sure he’s had some fine moments on celluloid (leaving Las Vegas was a high point, if I recall), but for the most part, he makes Keanu Reeves look like Sir Laurence Olivier.

Has anyone else seen it?  Because I need to know if anyone else got the feeling that he was channeling Elvis.    I wish I was kidding.

I must give kudos on his six pack though. It’s obvious he spends more time doing crunches than learning to emote.

Peter Fonda was in the movie, playing the devil, which he did with total believability.  Because everyone knows that if you do your hair back in a Jimmy Swaggart sweep and carry a walking stick that you must be evil incarnate.   I predict Oscar buzz for Mr. Fonda.    Really.

Eva Mendes (her name might end with a ‘z’, but I’m too scared to click away and look, so feel free to  check on that for me), played the love interest.    Her eyebrows scare the shit out of me.   I know that sounds mean, but I’m trying to help here.  Who keeps putting this gorgeous girl in movies without sending her to get those fucked up caterpillars fixed?   Honestly? She looks like my Aunt Sally, who shaved her eyebrows off one too many times back in the day and spent the rest of her life drawing them back on.    It wasn’t a good look for my Aunt Sally and it’s not a good look for this poor girl.   Someone get that Susan Powter chick in here to stop the madness.

Ok, since I can’t go surfing and am probably missing all kinds of cool shit on the internet, y’all send me some good links to check out when I’m back to full speed.   I feel so aloooooone.

Also, thanks to Kizz  (look, I linked!) for the very nice comment from the last post.  I told Pookie that I would be damned if I was going to miss a day this close to the end.   I sorta feel like breaking into I Will Survive.  Be glad you can’t hear me, y’all.  I know the whole song and I don’t care how bad I sound.

That’s the kind of badass I am.

I’ll be back tomorrow, God willing and the creek don’t rise.

5 Responses to “As God as my witness, I’ll never go without high speed internet again (but I’m still not eating any fucking turnips)”

  1. bekah Says:

    but for the most part, he makes Keanu Reeves look like Sir Laurence Olivier.

    Oh my GOD thank you! I thought I was the only one who detested Nicholas Cage! He has no depth! He has no acting skills! Everything is said in the very same monotone voice – and I do mean everything IN EVERY MOVIE HE HAS EVER MADE. Yet people cream their pants over him! I DON’T GET IT!

  2. mrschili Says:

    I saw Ghost Rider and loved it for what it was. I mean, seriously? It’s not high art, but it was FUN!

    My husband does his Moonstruck Nick Cage impression every time he sees Nick Cage. I don’t think Mr. Chili likes him very much, but I find him entertaining enough. Ditto Keanu Reeves…

  3. Mandy Lou Says:

    Eva Mendes scares me – I think she could kick my ass! Never really thought about the eyebrow though.

    As for Nicolas Cage, he’d be best in a silent movie, preferably with out his shirt on – but silent.

    Keep goin’ with the slow blogging – it’s rough but we’re sooooooo near the end. Just think “Friday, Friday, Friday”.

  4. Grandma Patsy Says:

    One more week!! I do hope you internet is up by then.Ya’ll are very intertaining, but I am an www addict,and Its all your fault. Haven’t see Ghost Rider.Haven’t planed to unless they shoot alot and have car chases in that case I’ll have to watch with my hubby cuse thats his kind of movie.The Cage man doesn’t have the best acting skills ,thats not why I would watch, I just kind of like his bod, as in “Family Man”.It was on this week..
    Counting the days, can’t wait to see ya’ll again!

  5. Fish Says:

    Oh! I can be in this club? I assumed it was just me that didn’t get all excited about Nick Cage. Or Keanu. They remind me of the guys in high school that get by forever on their looks, but when they open their mouths, you cringe. Not saying they’re stupid, they just give a really shallow performance. (I can say that now that I teach drama.)


Leave a Reply

