It’s my party and I’ll hike my leg if I want to

Ok, I’m hereby announcing a contest. I should warn you, I think I’m gonna win. And I won’t even have to pay someone off to skew the results, like that one time at bandcamp.

The contest is to see who had the most surreal experience this weekend.

It’s just now Sunday morning and already I think I have this sucker in the bag.

I went to a dog’s birthday party today. Like, there were decorations. And a dog cake. Which, incidentally, is not a cake made of dog.

It’s a cake made especially for dogs, according to their taste buds and nutritional needs. Which means it had tin cans, squirrels’ tails, stolen sandwiches and cat poop in it.

There was no cake for the humans. I can’t tell you how sad this made me.

The 4 year old had an awesome time. There was a go-cart there, complete with a patient, safety conscious big kid to drive it. So he and his new friend (the big kid’s little brother), a fellow party animal and all around man about town, were chauffeured around the yard about 75 times. They chatted like best buds all day, when they weren’t double-handedly decimating the deli and fruit trays.

So, can anybody beat the surreality of going to a dog’s birthday party?

kines1.jpg

“I wonder if the jump from here will kill me or just maim me a tiny bit.”

kines2.jpg

Sad clown dog says, “Fuck off”.

kines3.jpg

“What? Go eat your own cake. Oh, that’s right, you didn’t get any. Poor baby. Now fuck off”

kines4.jpg

“This hat is for me to poop on!”

8 Responses to “It’s my party and I’ll hike my leg if I want to”

  1. Pookie Says:

    It was surreal, and yet we love the little dog in question. And we genuinely like his people, too.

    Even if they do throw birthday parties for dogs.

    (Us, we do good to keep up with birthdays for the human-type kids. Five kids, five dogs, four cats, umpteen fish, one crotchety parrot, a turtle or two… )

    Upside is, Little Man and his Brand-New Best Bud Forever have birthdays two days apart, to be celebrated on subsequent weekends. Invitations are mutual.

    If they really hit it off, I hope his parents are okay with moving to New Hampshire. Or, letting us take their son with us. Whatever.

  2. mrschili Says:

    Are you KIDIDING ME?! You TOTALLY win!

  3. bekah Says:

    I’ve been to a dog’s birthday party before. Once for someone else’s dog, and once I threw one for my own dog. And yes, we sent out invitations, dressed them up, and had a cake for the puppies. Oh and we had balloons, too, but they scared the dogs.

  4. Patsy(GrandmaPatsy) Says:

    Noway can I top your weekend. Wasn’t even Oliver Invited
    Iam sure he would have enjoyed it also. The pics are great , what an awesome Rottie, and the yorkie with the cake, how cute can you get…

  5. magneto bold too Says:

    Ok I’ll try…… faerie party, apparently you have to spell it like that or you are a loser – HELLO you are 16 freakin’ years old with a fairy themed birthday party and a Bratz cake! Then entertaining a real life fairy* while the rest of the kids went to another party. My house was surrounded by a moat with all the rain and then said fairy decided that he was in fact going to come and live with us, and then he wasn’t, and then he was……..

    *Moo’s best friend who doesn’t mind being called a fairy especially when he is wearing fairy wings….

  6. Bob Agard Says:

    Our dogs eat horse poop. You are very, very funny!

  7. lola gets Says:

    My friend owns two horses. Not many folks have met these horses, so I suggested that she throw a “coming out” party for them. An Equine Beautillion! She laughed. Dont know if its going to happen or not, but if it does, Ill write about it!
    L

  8. Pat K Says:

    Dog-gone funny.


Leave a Reply

