It is to laugh, yes?

 Pookie has a fraternity brother who holds a yearly swimming party at his home for the brothers and their families.   Pookie got the date and said we ought to head up there (‘there’) being several hundred miles from ‘here’) for the party.  Which I was cool with until he told me the date.  July 21, 2007.   Can anybody tell me why this wrong? Anybody?  Bueller?

July 21, 2007 is the day that the last Harry Potter book comes out.  The book that will answer all my questions while it leaves me begging for more.   On July 21, 2007, I will be at Books-a-Million at midnight, exchanging my pre-paid ticket for my copy of the book, then I will be reading the book. Depending on how big the book is, I could be occupied through July 22,2007, if I allow for meals and sleep.

So needless to say, we won’t be going to the pool party.

I’m not very well socialized and I don’t always play well with others, but I’m by God well read and my vocabulary is out of this world, yo.

In other news:

Things have been going swimmingly at the shop of late.  If things keep up the way they are, we’ll be able to pay all our own bills soon, instead of relying on my Sugar Daddy (aka Pookie) to foot the bill.

We’re seeing lots of boarding business, which is great, because if the boarding will just pay the bills, then all the daycare and grooming money is lagniappe.

The local dog show is this weekend, so I will be networking my little heinie off. Plus, they have nachos. So that’s good.

Anyway, here’s another cute puppy picture for y’all.  Sadly, this puppy is not in the bucket, even though he FIT, because he is a BAD puppy, who does not care how much I WANT him to stay in the bucket.

Anyway, here’s Asher, the bad puppy.  I’m expecting to hear he’s joined a gang any day now. The little delinquent.

asher3.jpg

12 Responses to “It is to laugh, yes?”

  1. mrschili Says:

    Okay, seriously? CUTE puppy! Even if he is bad…

    Can you read in the car?

  2. Contrary Says:

    Ha! I wish! It’s too dangerous to drive and read at the same time.

    Oh, you mean if Pookie’s driving. Oh, that’s different then.

    But no, I get sick in the car if I try to read while we’re gettin’ on down the road.

    But it doesn’t matter because even if we went, all anyone would talk about is Pookie’s crazy ass wife who is holed up in the van, reading Harry Potter and snarling at anyone who tries to make small talk.

    By the way, Chili, have you heard any theories about Prof. McGonagall being a Death Eater?

  3. Pookie Says:

    *ahem* … For clarity, I must point out that the “several hundred miles” is about 110.

    I’ve told Contrary a million times to stop exaggerating!

  4. ben thar Says:

    i thought it was because you would want to help your brother “celebrate” his big 40. btw, you know have a 28 yr old bro. i
    had to bestow honorary brother status to a co worker cuz he picks on me worse than actual brothers.

  5. Shelly Says:

    That puppy is darling! What breed is he?

  6. Contrary Says:

    Shelly,

    The puppy is a Yorkshire Terrier, more commonly known as a Yorkie. One of my favorite toy breeds, actually.

  7. Pat K Says:

    Don’t ya have any real dogs like
    an Irish Wolf Hound or Something?

  8. Woman with Kids Says:

    We’re going to an all night “Mugglefest” the 20th, and then getting our books at midnight. Then? A cookout on the 21st. I’ve warned the host I might be reading at the cookout, I mean, it’s Harry Potter. I have my priorities.

    And what a cutie!

  9. mrschili Says:

    Contrary, post sumpthin’.

    Okay, now that that’s out of the way – NO – I haven’t heard the theories about McGonagall! I can’t wait for this book…..

  10. AndyThePug Says:

    I’m pretty interested in finding out what happens to Harry, but I’m by no means obsessed. I think they’re good books, but I doubt I’ll be standing in line at midnight anywhere to get the 7th one. I’ll probably just borrow it from a friend who I know will have it read within 24 hours anyway. Similiarly, knowing how a book ends doesn’t “ruin it” for me at all. It’s a several hundred page book, the only way to know what all happens is to read it. Even if I do have a rough idea of how the book is supposed to end, I get so caught up in it that I don’t constantly think “how is this going to get to event X that I know happens in the end”, which I guess is what people mean when they say a book is ruined for them by knowing the ending. For example, when I read Book 6 (thanks Contrary!), it was several months after it had been released and I already knew Dumbledore died in it. (don’t read that last sentence if you haven’t read Book 6, by the way) It didn’t in any way lessen the enjoyment I got from reading it. It was certainly one of the most emotionally powerful ‘scenes’ (I’m not sure what you’d call it) I’ve ever read in a novel, and the way J. K. Rowling draws you into the story makes it impossible to really “know” what happens without reading it and being emotionally drawn into the story like that.

    Any way, that’s my rambling two cents for the day.

    Oh, and I demand that you take more puppy pictures.
    Seriously.

  11. sweatpantsmom Says:

    I’ll be taking my kids to the midnight Harry Potter thingy at our local bookstore. Luckily, it’s adjacent to a 24-hour Starbucks.

    I haven’t read any of the books. Don’t hate me.


Leave a Reply

