Y’all can say you knew me ‘when’

So I’ve mentioned that we’re about to have some radio ads coming out, right?  Well, I’d written some copy one night (at 2 friggin’ AM) just to illustrate my idea of how to approach the ads.  My idea was to have two girl dogs chatting about this fabulous new spa that one of them had found (when pitching the idea, I may have actually said ‘ you know, ala Sex and the City’, so for that bit of crap, I apologize to the universe at large).

(also, for using the words ‘pitching the idea’ like I’m fucking Darrin Stevens and I’m asking Samantha to clean the house and cook dinner in an hour because I fucking forgot to tell her we were having company for dinner, and also, I disapprove of magic, so do everything the way I want you to do it because I’m a smug prick).

Wow. Did anybody else see the Bewitched  rant coming? Because I didn’t see it coming and I WROTE it.  Lordy Bee. Someone get that girl a valium.
So, anyway, I dashed off a paragraph or two of dialogue and sent it to both radio stations we’re working with.

I’m quite pleased because I found out today that beyond a bit of editing for time, they’re using what I wrote word for word for the ads.  As to the editing, I certainly don’t mind.  It turns out I’m a bit long-winded (go ahead and pretend to be shocked) .

So now I’m feeling all writerly because I wrote something that will be aired on two fairly popular but still small town radio stations.

Pookie isn’t kidding when he says it doesn’t take much to make me happy.  Wait. Maybe what he says is that it doesn’t take much to get me sloppy drunk.

Aw, fuck it.  I’m happy and really, that’s all that matters.

3 Responses to “Y’all can say you knew me ‘when’”

  1. mrschili Says:

    Seriously – EVERY TIME I read you, I like you a little bit more. That Bewitched rant would be something *I* would come up with (oh, and it doesn’t take much to make me happy OR sloppy drunk. Are you sure we’re not related?).

    Congrats on the ads! See if you can get the stations to turn them into MP3s that you can post here!

  2. Little Miss Moi Says:

    Dear darri.. er, I mean contrary. Good on you. Really. It doesn’t take much to make anyone happy. Nothing wrong with being longwinded.

  3. Fishie Says:

    Welcome to Professional Writer’s Club! Ain’t you the thing! After spending years of my life watching my dad script radio and tv ads for his home improvement business, I can truly appreciate your effort. Did you sit there with a stopwatch, all exact-y? I’d ask if you were clomping around yelling at people, but I think they must have been fairly safe at 2 a.m.


Leave a Reply

