If you’re not a fan of the Harry Potter books, stop reading now. Unless you just love every word that drips from my fingertips, in which case, Hi! I like you too!

harry-potter.jpgI am currently re-reading all the Harry Potter books in order, so that I can be all up to date when the last (LAST) book hits the shelves. Why, yes, I do already have my pre-paid ticket sitting all safe and snug in my wallet. Why, yes, I am a big dorko.

My problem is that I gave myself too much time to read them all, and now only have The Half-Blood Prince to go.   Considering that I read the bulk of The Order of the Phoenix today (600+ pages), I don’t think it’ll take me from now until July 21st to read Half-Blood Prince.

So do I read The Half-Blood Prince now and then suffer through 2 months of dying for the last book, or do I save it until about a week before the last book is out?  Or should I read it now and then read it again later?

Help!

Also, while I was in the bookstore (pre-paying the very last Harry Potter book EVER!!!). I might have got into a slight argument with a woman who seemed perfectly nice except for her disturbing habit of insisting that Snape is still a death-eater.

I told her we needed to exchange e-mail addresses so that I could send her an emphatically typed  ‘I told you so!’  on or about July 22nd.

Thankfully she agreed with me that Dumbledore isn’t really dead or we might have had fisticuffs right there  in line at Joe Muggs.

So, Internet, what say you?  Should I read the book now or later?   Is Dumbledore dead?  Is Snape one of the good guys?   Will Harry and Ginny end up together, against all odds?   Am I a little too concerned with the love lives of fictional teenagers?

12 Responses to “If you’re not a fan of the Harry Potter books, stop reading now. Unless you just love every word that drips from my fingertips, in which case, Hi! I like you too!”

  1. mrschili Says:

    It’s a good thing you’re still in Texas, Contrary – I’m tellin’ ya, Dumbledore’s really dead. I’m glad we agree about Snape, though.

    Here’s what I’d do. Give yourself a page limit per day. Or a chapter limit. Stretch out the enjoyment of the last book for as long as possible. Then, when you’re finished, watch a movie a week. That ought to get you through to the end….

    love ya!

    -Chili

  2. AndyThePug Says:

    Dumbledore is dead.

    How many times does Rowling have to say it?

    As sharp a turn as the books have taken towards a darker plot, I wouldn’t be surprised at all if Harry dies.

    As for pacing yourself with books, I can’t really help there. I recently stayed up all night reading “World War Z” in one sitting, and I’ve been known to do the same with considerably heftier books.

  3. Contrary Says:

    Dumbledore is not dead! Also, that puppy I had when I was a kid is still alive and well on the farm my mother sent him to live on! 30 years ago.

    (twitches)

  4. Holly Says:

    I don’t want Dumbledore to be dead, but I kinda think that’s the point. I want Snape to be a good guy.

    Take Mrs. Chili’s advice on limiting yourself to make it last.
    🙂

  5. Beth Says:

    That would really suck if Dumbledore is dead. I change my mind about Snape every 5 minutes so I’m no help there. I think that’s kind of JKR’s intent though.

    After you finish reading HBP, check out http://www.beyondhogwarts.com.

  6. Pat K Says:

    You know your gonna read it.
    Stop pretending to ask for advice.

  7. Pookie Says:

    Of course she read it. In one day!

  8. Robin Says:

    Dumbledore is not dead, he can’t be.

    Jury is still out on Snape.

    I have 2 books ordered. I need to start re-reading Half Blood Prince also.

  9. VeryContrary I wouldn't have these problems if people would just WRITE FASTER. Geez. « Says:

    […] FASTER. Geez. May 10th, 2007 — Contrary First off: Oh, OF COURSE, I went ahead and read the damn book. I generally can’t resist something I want when it’s right in front of me. (Later for […]

  10. Nate Davis Says:

    Dumbledore is alive, snape is a good guy, harry dies, neville kills voldemort, i bet 1000$ thats the way it happens.

  11. Organic Mama Says:

    Dumbledore is DAID! I await his portrait’s awakening breathlessly. (gasp)
    Snape is something not yet fully explained and I like to think that he will somehow be redeemed. I do hate his in large gobs now, so it he does manage to repent, I will be pleased. My copy will arrive on its day of distribution right into my mailbox. I may try out “Stalker” that day.

  12. swanktown Says:

    ;_; Yes, Dumbledore is really dead, and this post is /very/ late. Snape is a good guy! 😀 I should really reread the last book…


Leave a Reply

