I also napped and sat on my ass a lot

miniature-lemon-jonquils.jpgToday’s post comes to you in list form. Because that’s how I roll. Yo. And yes, I’m aware that the the faux gangster talk is simply not done anymore, but I’m not very cool or ‘with it’, and that really is how I roll.
(1) Festivals we attended this weekend: 1

The Jonquil Festival at Old Washington State Park in Arkansas (just a quick jog down the road from Hope, where they’re still shooting up the ‘Birthplace of Clinton’ signs. )

(2) Foods consumed off a stick because I didn’t learn anything the last time: 4

Alligator (of course, right?), sausage, shrimp and the hands-down favorite, chocolate covered strawberries. We ate, we made candles, we appreciated history and we met some local wildlife.

The wildlife being Agnes the wild turkey, and Esme the peahen. We named them ourselves, because we are the kind of people who do that. Well, Baby Girl and I are the kind of people who do that. Pookie is the kind of people who roll their eyes at people like us.

(3) Shows/movies added to the TiVo line-up: A lot.

Some highlights: Shalom in the Home on TLC. I have a little bit of a crush on the Rabbi. Apparently common sense is an aphrodisiac to me. Next I’ll be mackin’ on the Supernanny.

Barefoot in the Park with Jane Fonda and Robert Redford. It was made in 1967 and they were both gorgeous. Also, Neil Simon wrote it so it’s funny as hell.

Mythbusters. I don’t know we’ve never TiVo’d this one since we watch it every chance we get, but it has it’s own season pass now.

All in all a great weekend, thanks mostly to a newfound ability to eat stick food in reasonable quantities.

So what did y’all do this weekend? Go anywhere fun? Eat anything disgusting? Watch anything on the tube that didn’t kill any brain cells? Inquiring minds want to know.

6 Responses to “I also napped and sat on my ass a lot”

  1. Pat K Says:

    I was sick all freakin weekend.

    Food on a stick,cool

    Don’t think Beer on a stick works though.

  2. wayfarerbrian Says:

    I moved around 14″ of snow for 3 hours on Saturday (which was about half as long as it could have been without the snowblower, gods be praised), then on Sunday our house did a St. Paddy’s Day feast, including corned beef (made with Guinness), colcannon and soda bread. I’ll be working it off over the next 5 days, but it was totally worth it!

    Éireann go Brách!

  3. sweatpantsmom Says:

    I ate many things this weekend, but I’m afraid none of them can compete with Alligator On A Stick.

    Does it taste like chicken?

  4. mrschili Says:

    We have Mythbusters on TiVo season pass, too, though I’m starting to feel like Adam pukes a little too much for my liking…

    We didn’t eat anything on a stick this weekend, either. I’m tellin’ you, Girlfriend; you’d better get all your food-on-a-stick needs met before you move to New England. The closest you’re likely to get to stick-delivered food is a marshmallow roasted over the grill. (we do, however, have yummy candy apples and MEAN sausage, onion and pepper sandwiches around ‘country fair’ season…)

  5. Fishie Says:

    I was a shopping fool this weekend, stocking up until the freezer needs a padlock to keep it shut.

    Then we did what any self-respecting frugal stockpiling maniacs would do.

    We went out to eat at James Coney Island.

  6. jobaby Says:

    Lets see…. while stuck at the airport in Ohio (still wondering how the hell I ended up there on my way from Florida to Louisiana).. but during my 5 ^&$%$ hour delay… I ate… some chips, a teensy bag of peanuts, a bottle of room temp water. Because, well.. all the food joints in the Cinncinati airport close at 9pm.. which is ironically enough… precisely the time they announced our flight would have a 2 (hhmmmrph!) hour delay. At midnight, they were kind enough to put out snacks. Which is great… because the 2yr old, who’s mother had let her drink a full coke, was JUST about to come down off her caffeine high. So it goes…


Leave a Reply

