Fortunate

We had Chinese food Sunday, because, well, because it was Sunday, to be perfectly frank. As everyone knows, we are kind of really immature and one of the ways in which that manifests is that we add the words ‘in bed’ to the end of our fortunes when we partake of the Chinese quisine.

Pookie’s fortune: A lifetime of happiness lies ahead of youin bed

My fortune: As soon as you feel too old to do a thing,do itin bed

I think these may be the most accurate fortunes we’ve ever had. We’re already too old to do most of the shit we do in bed, but we’re happy as hell.

Ok, now that I’ve gorked more than a few of you out (sorry, people related to us!), I have yet another video for you. Jo sent this one to me and I watched it several times.

Presenting: Fluffy the Kung Fu Bunny

5 Responses to “Fortunate”

  1. mrschili Says:

    We TOTALLY DO THAT!! The only time we try to contain ourselves, though, is when dining with Mr. Chili’s parents. It’s kind of icky to put “in bed” after an 85 year old man’s fortune. Besides, they don’t hold with that kind of humor….

  2. wayfarerbrian Says:

    My friend Caleb introduced us to that a couple of years ago, and now we can’t stop doing it. We had Chinese food for Chinese New Year, and I got a fortune that worked FABULOUSLY with the “in bed” added on. I’d share it with you, but as fate (karma?) would have it, the kitchen gods stole it. I bet they’re having a healthy laugh over it, too.

    It’s just as well it’s gone, I suppose. My 5-year old has started asking why we crack up every time we read our fortunes and I’m running out of lame diversions.

  3. Pookie Says:

    Baby Girl turned red and giggled herself out of breath when she read hers. It said something like, “When someone says you can’t do something, prove them wrong by doing it.” — IN BED!

  4. Mocha Says:

    Basically, I want to eat Chinese food in bed. And then sleep. In bed.

  5. Sarah Says:

    Our best “in bed” fortune cookie was my husband’s last year:

    You will always have a true friend if you can learn to be a friend to yourself…

    My husband can never resist sharing this little Chinese “tradition” with whomever we are dining with. Sometimes it’s well received but many many other times they just look at us like we are sickos.


Leave a Reply

