When birthday cake stops being fun and starts being a fire hazard

cake on fireWelcome to yet another inaugural post. I’m trying to win a blog award in the catagory of most blog services used. Next is LiveJournal and then maybe Diaryland. I haven’t decided yet.

Actually, I’m hoping to make WordPress my permanent home. So far, everything works great and looks great and is dumbed down just enough for me to understand. Which, by the way, was on that list of potential suitor must-have qualities. Pookie aced that one!

Anyway, I really appreciate y’all coming over with me. I would understand if you got tired of following me around. I mean, it would crush me and I would likely go into a deep depression and eat myself into a coma, but that’s not your problem (sob). By the way, this is what we call a pre-emptive guilt trip.

So, it’s my birthday. I’m 38. Thirty eight. Thiiiiiirty-eiiiiiight. Sounds funny if you say it over and over. Still doesn’t feel funny though.

I think the best birthday gift I ever got was when Pookie drove 4 hours round trip to bring me flowers and take me to lunch, when he had to be back home to go to work at 4pm. This was back when we lived 2 hours apart and he certainly could have got by with having flowers sent. In fact, it was a mere two weeks before our wedding (our anniversary is on Vanlentine’s Day). I mean, he had me. The dress was bought, I was packing up my house and my life. He didn’t have to impress me anymore. But he did. And he still does.

In fact, he is taking me to see the Lippazaner Stallions this weekend. I have always, always wanted to see them. When I say always, I mean I don’t remember a time when I didn’t know about them and want to see them.

To say that he has impressed me yet again would be an understatement.

What was your best ever birthday gift?

22 Responses to “When birthday cake stops being fun and starts being a fire hazard”

  1. Fishie Says:

    Ha ha, you’re older than me. Until September. I shall milk every minute, you old crone.

  2. Organic Mama Says:

    Many Happies! Ok, looking up the stallions…. Oooh!! Enjoy yourself!!!

    Bestest gift? Spamalot tickets in its first summer and my Mp3 player, only ONE of the devices I don’t think I could live without.

  3. Robin Says:

    Happy birthday you old woman you. I’ll catch up to ya in October.

    Best gift would have to be my digital camera. Love it!

  4. mrschili Says:

    Happy, Happy! Welcome to the club – I’ll teach you the secret handshake when you move here…

    The best birthday gift I every recieved was given to me by Kizz (117hudson.blogspot.com). She sent me a little black journal, in which she had written a couple of entries. The idea is that I would write some things in the book, then mail it back to her (we live about 350 miles apart). Sort of like IM through snail mail. It turns out that, because we HAVE IM, we don’t use the journal much, but it’s still a REALLY cool idea, and it’s the first one that comes to mind when I think of good gifties.

  5. Lynnster Says:

    Believe it or not, I actually know a few bloggers who have moved more times than you! People will find you eventually, they always do. I’m glad you’re finding WP easy to manage!

    But more importantly – HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

  6. Desiree Says:

    Ah, this means I must change my blogroll. Damnit.

    I do like the new digs though, and also, HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

  7. Pat K Says:

    Happy Birthday !!

  8. Holly Says:

    Happy Birthday!

  9. jen Says:

    Happy birthday, my birthday twin! whoot!

  10. Andy Says:

    Didn’t we go see them once, dad? (I will never refer to you as “pookie”) I don’t remember the details, but I remember you taking me (and the other son?) to an Austrian horse show somewhere, because I remember asking about the Austrian national anthem being played.

  11. buffi Says:

    Happy Birthday, my friend!!

    Best birthday present, hopefully, will be this year when I get my husband back. Preferably bearing diamonds. I dream big.

  12. wayfarerbrian Says:

    ¡Feliz cumpleaños, C!

  13. roo Says:

    Happy Birthday, Contrary! I saw the Lippizaners when I was little– they’re beautiful, and so smart! You’ll have a great time.

    I think my best birthday gift was getting a ride in a hot air balloon when I turned sixteen. That was pretty awesome.

    Many happy returns!

  14. fauve Says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

    (please forgive the fact that I’m a day late…um, actually, I’m NOT late…it’s a timezone thing. Yeah, that’s it)

  15. Pookie Says:

    Andy, yes, I took you and “the other son” to see the Lippizaners, and you might recall that “the other son” was quite the butt. He kept demanding to know when they were going to start doing tricks. I guess he thought they were going to juggle flaming chainsaws, and “airs above the ground” just wasn’t impressive enough.

    Contrary and I saw some performing Friesian horses at a state fair once. They’re very impressive too.

  16. kate1976 Says:

    Happy Birthday !!! Oh, and welcome to WordPress!!!! 🙂

  17. Joel Says:

    38, holy shit!

  18. Shell Says:

    I’m 38 too. I wish I could say something to recommend it…

  19. Mrs. Flinger Says:

    Hey! Happy birthday and thanks for stopping by MY blog yesterday. 🙂

    Thirty-eight? You’re a young chicken. As long as a chicken is a compliment, that is.

  20. Jessie Says:

    Happy Birthday! (even if it is a little late)

    I don’t know what my favorite gift ever has been, but usually anything related to a dinner out is good, and this year we not only went to a Macaroni and Cheese Bake-off/Wine Tasting, I also got dinner at my favorite restaurant. It was wonderful.

  21. Andy(the little bro) Says:

    is fox saying that was her best birthday present or did she remark by accident


Leave a Reply

