Well, I didn’t see that coming

During a visit to the park and duck pond today, our little guy ran around for awhile with his shoes off. Because his dumbassed mother put sandals on him, when he was going to be running around in fine pea gravel. Number of times one of us had to remove a pebble from his shoe before we wised up and removed the sandals: 172 Or 3. But damn, that’s a long way down every five seconds, y’all.

So, somewhere along the way, he picked up an allergic reaction to something. We truly have no idea what. He goes outside barefoot at home. Hell, I spent my entire childhood (and if I’m honest, most of my adulthood) barefoot.

We brought him home (by which time he was COVERED in red welts and bumps. Yes, welts and bumps.), dosed him with some Benedryl and put him in a baking soda bath. Within 15 minutes, there was a marked improvement and by the time he got up from his nap, he was all better.

Now, you other parents out there (or nurses, who happen to be related to me), what the hell will cover a kid in nasty looking …things….in the space of 10 minutes (the length of the drive home), but is benign enough to be cured by Benedryl, baking soda and an hour long nap?

I’m glad it wasn’t any more serious than it turned out to be, because if I’d had to watch Project Runway in the ER waiting room…well, let’s just say that they wouldn’t booted the small one out without treating him, but we might have got put on one of those watch out for this crazy bitch lists.

For those who don’t know what happened, and you don’t want to know yet…what the hell are you doing here? Seriously.

They didn’t eliminate anyone this week. All four finalists are going to Olympus Fashion Week!

I must say, I’m relieved, as Michael did not do his best work and it was down to him and Jeffrey. Jeffrey’s dress sucked more, but I’ve seen him do worse (couture, my ass) and have the judges have simultaneous hissy fits over what a genius he is.

Oh, and also, my son lost his phone in the Mojave Desert….somewhere. So if one of you guys find it, will you let me know? Thanks in advance!

9 Responses to “Well, I didn’t see that coming”

  1. Pookie Says:

    Snookums? Benadryl and baking soda aren’t needed.

    You’ve always said a nap cures everything!

  2. Rude Cactus Says:

    The desert? Huh. I’m sure someone will run across it 😉

  3. Robin Says:

    He could have had an allergic reaction to anything. My youngest is like that sometimes. And benadryl always does the trick.

    Who’s in the final 4?

  4. Pat K Says:

    Yeah I am allergic to celery and some nuts. When most sane people would dial 911 I just throw down 4 or 5 benadryl.

  5. The Son Says:

    Hey ive got a rough idea of where it is, Lane 7-8 of the Day Land Navigation course at ft irwin, its only a couple miles around but i just cant bring myself to look for it, besides the fact im not allowed on it anymore, need permission and stuff.

  6. Pookie Says:

    Here you go, Bubba:

    http://www.studiopasquali.it/satphone/index.htm

    Put in a cell or sat phone number and this site triangulates the position of
    the ‘phone (based on repeater towers I assume) and provides a satellite
    image of the area.

  7. Nila Says:

    I was so worried that Michael would be voted off. I can’t wait to see what they all come up with for their collections. It’s going to be more interesting than last season, I think.

  8. roo Says:

    I am so glad Michael didn’t get eliminated– he’s been my favorite since the first show of the season. His dress really bit it, though. And it’s funny– I hadn’t thought about him having a general problem designing eveningwear until Michael Kors pointed it out. But now I remember that his couture project had some serious issues, as well.

    I think he should get a free ride to Parsons Design School. He’d really flourish with a little more guidance. And I’ve rarely seen anyone who responds so well to criticism– it’s great to watch his interactions with Tim Gunn.

    Although I wouldn’t be surprised if Michael Kors ended up hiring him.

    I wish Jeffrey had gotten eliminated– his clothes are often trashy and always unflattering (with the exception of his newspaper dress, which I liked), plus he’s a misogynist asshole. I think they kept him on because he makes for good television. But even by that questionable standard, he’s no Santino.

    All right, I’ll stop now…

  9. sweatpantsmom Says:

    I can’t put my two cents in on Project Runway, because I’ve never watched it (oh, stop your hissing) but I’m curious about the pea-gravel allergy. Do you think something bit him on the foot?


Leave a Reply

