I still don’t like him, though

My daughter has a friend who, I don’t much like.  He’s like a stoner Eddie Haskell and to be honest, I prefer the stoner side.   Every tme he sidles up to me and starts to suck up, I just want to smack him.  But in a nice way.

Tonight, though, I got a glimpse into his sense of humor that made me think that maybe there was hope for him yet.

He called Baby Girl and told her would be by later.

She said, ‘Sure! Just make sure you call before you come.’

He said, ‘Oh, so it’s just like one of those 900 numbers!”

That shit is funny right there.   Sure it’s dirty funny, but hell, that’s my favorite kind of funny.

****

Anybody here ever seen Singing in the Rain?  Or even just seen the part with Gene Kelly doing the title number?  If you haven’t, you should.   It’s an amazing piece of film.  The movie is actually one of my favorites and I watch it a couple times a year, so I am intimately acquainted with the aforementioned sequence.

There was a program on the other night called Movies Rock.   Contemporary artists were recreating moments of music in the movies.

Usher performed singing in the rain. I don’t mean he just sung the song.  I mean he performed  the dance sequence to the last nuance and sang it beautifully as well.   It was amazing and impressive.   If you had asked me to pick someone to do this, I would have said no one could.   I knew Usher could sing, but his dancing was a wonderful surprise.

If you’e at all interested in seeing the performance (and you should be!), here it is:

*****

Holiday video for the day:  Pat Benatar and Neil Giraldo singing Christmas in America  (Ok, so Pat does the singing and Neil plays guitar.)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.