My bird peed on my while I was typing this. Wah.

Why, yes, it’s another NaBloPoMo post about NaBloPoMo! Because I say so, that’s why.

So the whole deal is to post at least once a day every day, right? It doesn’t matter what you post, as long as you post. Technically.

Using the randomizer, I’ve seen quite a few bloggers posting something like this:

“This counts as a post”

That is just chickenshit. It’s like observing the letter of the law, while stomping the shit out of the spirit.

I understand being time constrained and/or feeling like you don’t have anything to say. TRUST ME. But, damn, tell a joke, post a cool YouTube video, if all else fails, tell us what you had for lunch. Put some effort into it, for Pete’s sake.

How much personal satisfaction can there be in doing the bare minimum to meet your goal?

I actually have more respect for those who have missed days completely, because at least they didn’t throw some crap up on the screen and call it done.

There’s a chance I’m taking this all too seriously, I suppose. Hell, knowing me, there’s a very good chance. But still, if you’re going to do something, don’t do it halfway. Don’t do the very least you can get away with. If you’re going to do it, do it right.

You’ll notice I’m not saying ‘do it right or don’t do it at all’. I don’t mean that. Just do it right!

Ok, I’m off my combination soapbox/high horse now (soaphorse? highbox?)

And now I have to post this video. It’s mostly for my cousin Jo, but I wish everyone would take a few minutes and watch it. If you’re a Johnny Cash fan, you will be blown away. If you’re not, you may just gain a new appreciation for the man. I just sent it to my son in IM and here’s how that conversation went:

Me: Hey, I have something for you.

Him: What? (But thinking: Dear God not another lecture on finances from the woman who had to take a loan out on her car every year to buy our school clothes)

Me: (posted the link)

Him: OMG

Him: No friggin’ way!

Him: This is my Christmas gift, right? It has to be.

Me: Ha! I’m still cool and relevant and shit! (ok, I only thought that part)

Me: Damn. I should have held on to this until Christmas. Saved myself a few bucks.

Anyway, here it is. I hope you enjoy it.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.