‘V’ for Vague


Y’all know about this whole NaBloPoMo thing, right? So a group of bloggers have been kind enough to go through the list of participants and do reviews of each blog. They get assigned a letter or two of the alphabet and review the blogs starting with that letter. Pretty cool, right? I would have been happy to volunteer, because, hello! Guaranteed blog fodder!

My review is in! I present it to you here verbatim, in it’s entirety, as written by Holly.

“Very Contrary: Had a silly post about her perverted cousin and washing cats. I also found the following acent (sic) quiz there.”

That’s it. That’s the whole thing. Now, to be fair, she had 23 ‘V’ blogs to review, so I certainly wouldn’t expect a full on review, but, I have to admit, I don’t get any sense of whether or not this person enjoyed reading here or not. Is ‘silly’ a good thing? A bad thing? An irritating thing?

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining; let’s face it, she could have said something like, “Very Contrary, a big steaming pile of crap. I also found the following acent (sic) quiz there.”

I just wish it hadn’t been quite so non-committal. When the only word denoting opinion is ‘silly’, it’s very hard for me to get an idea of how she feels about it.

Though, I have to admit, if anyone asked me for a one word description of this blog it would be ‘silly’. Wait? Is ‘ill-conceived’ one word or two? Nah, I’ll go with silly. So, I guess since she perceived it as I conceived it, I have achieved it. Right?

****************************************************************************

Ok, I usually try to spare y’all the cute utterances of my child, because for the most part, they’re only cute to the people who know him and love him and also, let’s face it, there isn’t exactly a dearth of cute kid stories on the Internets, but this one I had to share with y’all:

This evening, as I was sitting on the couch, cruising around the internet while wearing my nightgown and watching TV (multi-tasking!), he comes up to me and says,”This is how you spend your day off?” He sounded like Olympia Dukakis in Moonstruck.

So, of course, I laughed and his Daddy laughed and his sister laughed. He then asked why we were laughing, in a very disgruntled voice (He’s reached that stage where he understands that there is a difference between being laughed at and being laughed with. He’s just not sure what that difference is yet).

So I told him that I was laughing because it was funny. He said, “No, that wasn’t funny. And I know funny.”

Which? Apparently he does, because he cracked us all up again.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.